Jesus’ Birthday Gift


On Christmas day, as we prepared to go for worship to the Church, I explained to our beloved 4 year old son, Reuben, as to what Christmas is all about. I told him that it was the birthday of Jesus and asked him if he had wished Jesus, a “Happy Birthday”. Then I asked him as to what gift, he would want to give to Jesus, on this day? As he pondered, I told him, that the best birthday gift, one can give to Jesus is his or her very own life. I noticed the expression change on my son’s face from inquisitiveness to concern. Then he said, “if we give our life to Jesus as a gift, won’t we be dead?”. I started to tell him, that what I meant was not necessarily the physical offering of our lives, but stopped as I realized that there was a hidden truth in what my son (whom I believed was being used by the Holy Spirit of God) said.

Our lives should be an offering to Jesus, as his gift, in such a manner, that we can join in with Apostle Paul and express “It is no longer, I who live, but Christ Jesus who lives in me” (Galatians 2:20). Being dead to self and sin, and offering our lives to Christ Jesus is the best birthday gift we can give to Jesus. It goes far beyond, just wishing Jesus a “Happy Birthday”, because when one offers their life to Jesus (by believing in His Name and accepting Him to be their Lord and Savior), it will truly be a very “Happy Birthday” for Him, with a lot of rejoicing in heaven, where He has gone to prepare a place for all who believe in Him (John 14:3).

Jesus was God’s gift to man kind, and our gift to Him is our life! Have you given the gift of your life to Jesus, as His birthday gift?

Galatians 2:20 (KJV)
20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

One thought on “Jesus’ Birthday Gift

  1. Truly amazing from what Reuben mentioned…

Leave a Reply

