Character and Names of God in Psalm 23


The LORD (Jehovah)
Is my Shepherd (Jehovah-rohi)
I shall not want (Jehovah-jireh – my provider)
He makes me lie down in green pastures
He leads me besides
still waters (Jehovah-shalom – my peace)
He restores my soul (Jehovah-rophe – my healer)
He leads me in paths of
Righteousness (Jehovah-tsidkenu – the LORD is righteous)
For his name sake.
Even though, I walk through the valley of shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
For thou are with me (Jehovah-shammah – The LORD is there)
Thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me.
Thou preparest a table before me
in the presence of mine enemies (Jehovah-nissi – my banner)
Thou anointest (Jehovah-M’Kaddesh – The Lord sanctifies)
my head with oil, my cup runs over.

Because, Jehovah (THE LORD) is
jireh (provider)
shalom (peace)
rophe (healer)
tsidkenu (righteousness)
shammah (there)
nissi (banner)
M’kaddesh (sanctifier)

Surely, goodness and mercy shall follow us ALL THE DAYS OF OUR LIVES and we will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

We see the character of God when we know His Names, because no one name could contain the limitless infinite God and that is why His response to Moses, when asked “What shall I tell the children of Israel when they ask me what is the name of the God of their fathers that has sent me?” (Exodus 3:13),  simply was “I AM THAT I AM”.

Ref: Adapted from The Bible Exposition Commentary by Warren Wiersbe

4 Responses

  1. [...] The call is first to Follow (not lead). He is the Good Shepherd and we are the Sheep. The sheep always follows the voice of the shepherd unlike other cattle for which it does not matter if the Shepherd leads or follows behind. Sheep need the Shepherd to be in front of their eyes, directing them, to still waters and lush plenty pastures so they shall not want any good thing (Psalm 23). [...]

  2. [...] For a related reading, see Character and Names of God in Psalm 23 [...]

  3. Thank you for all your posts. Greatly appreciated.
    God bless you with wisdom and us readers with understanding.
    Love in Jesus

    • Thank you Charmaine. God’s wisdom I certainly covet and I thank you for your kind words and well wishes / blessings. I pray the same for you. Love in Jesus. God bless you and yours richly.
      Mano Paul

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

